NaNoWriMo

News & Events, Writing

I’m doing NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) this year.  The goal is to get the first draft of a 50,000-word novel done by 11:59PM on November 30th.

That goal seems attainable if you already have some basic research and an outline done on November 1st. I didn’t have that – only the premise – and I spent the first couple of weeks thinking about how to tell my story, a YA, science-fiction thriller. I’m not even half way to the word count goal, but I think I can have the first draft done by Christmas.

Ready. Set. Novel Cover

I used this book to kick off the process. Ready. Set. Novel! was created by the people from NaNoWriMo, and contains page after  page of exercises to help develop a novel before you face the blank page. If Hemingway had a book like this, imagine what he could have accomplished!

 

Leave a Reply

