Yesterday’s Memories Today

Process & Aethetics
IncredibleHulk-154int

The Incredible Hulk #154

I started collecting comic books in junior high. The Hulk was my favorite character and my pursuit of back issues led me to a copy of #154. When I saw the opening page, it triggered a memory  from when I was a little kid.

I had read that issue in elementary school. And I remembered my younger self being fascinated by the Hulk’s anatomy, the balloon-like muscles of his arms and torso. It was the first time that I noticed comic book art.

This year I’m preparing to sell my comic book collection and, as I was scanning the covers, I came across #154. I instantly remembered it as the issue that I had rediscovered when I was a tweenager.

You know you’re getting old when you’re recollections come with memories built into them.

 

Leave a Reply

