Blown Covers – Spring Training

Blown Covers, Drawing

"Spring Training"

Blowncovers.com is a weekly contest where just plain folks can take a shot at a New Yorker cover. Although not an official outlet for the magazine, it is maintained by one of the magazine’s art editors, Françoise Mouly.

The week’s theme was spring training. I don’t know a lot about baseball, but I know that Occupy Wall Street is planning a spring offensive so I went with that.

I was stunned to hear that this concept was under consideration for the cover. I was not stunned when it wasn’t picked. I’ve worked in advertising. I know how it is. An idea, even a good one, doesn’t have much chance of survival.

Leave a Reply

