Illustrators are the Nicest People

News & Events

Got a call from a sales rep about buying a page in the Directory of Illustration. Of course, she put the best spin on it and, of course, I was suspicious. So I contacted a dozen illustrators with pages in the Directory. They all met a set of criteria, but even within those criteria they were selected at random. I didn’t know any of them. The certainly had not heard of me.

Eleven out of the twelve got back to me within a couple days. One even called. Could I have gotten 11 photographers, architects or food stylists to do that? Don’t think so. Something I learned in art school is that illustrators are the nicest people.

Opinions on the Directory of Illustration were mixed, enuff for me not to buy a page. But hey, if you’re reading this and you have an opinion about the Directory of Illustration, the Workbook, Agency Access, or any other form of paid advertising, hip me!

Leave a Reply

