Picture Book Project 2011: What do you want? A Caldecott Medal?

Picture Book Project 2011

One thing I took away from the SCBWI 2011 Winter Conference is that I have to make a picture book as proof to publishers that I have both the skills and the stamina to illustrate books for their authors.

I’m not worried about the writing. In advertising I wrote more TV and radio commercials than I can remember. I know how to think of a catchy idea and hone it to a fine point. The illustrations are going to be the hard part. I’ll need at least 16. That means, to be done by the end of the year, I’ll need to make more than one a month. And we’re already into February with no text. Better get cracking.

The first step is to think of some good titles. Then I’ll develop the more promising ones into texts. I’d like to have 3 to 5 working drafts to choose from. My writing deadline is the first day of spring, March 21st.

4 thoughts on “Picture Book Project 2011: What do you want? A Caldecott Medal?

  1. If you don’t already have The Art of Maurice Sendak, I’d highly recommend it. There are several examples of Sendak’s book ‘dummies’ that are pretty enlightening (imo) in regards to how to go about planning a picture book.

  2. Hey Fred,

    I too am working on a couple of story ideas with the hopes of at least one to be worthy of dummying up. My goal is to have it ready to send out by June. I am still developing the story I like. This is new for me since I never wrote anything like a picture book. The illustrations will be the easier part.

    Good luck!
    Russ

Leave a Reply

