Illustration Friday – “Explore”

Portrait of NASA astronaut.

Explorer

Tried a new way to work from photos. Thought it would be a slower, but it turned out to be faster. Most of the time went into the spacesuit.

About fredstesney

I earned a BFA in illustration from Art Center College of Design in Pasadena. Naturally, I went into advertising as a writer. Advertising is a great way to earn a living but part of being a creative person is feeling the need to expand one’s horizons. And I am a creative person. So I became an audio engineer. Audio engineering is a terrible way to make a living. The hours are long, the tension is high and most other audio engineers are cranky old men. I’m not a cranky old man. So I spent some trying to decide what to do with my life. You can’t make a living trying to decide what to do with your life. So, remembering my illustration degree that I never got around to doing anything with, I started painting again.
This entry was posted in Illustration Friday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Illustration Friday – “Explore”

  1. Wow. This is such an amazing piece of art. I am speechless. You’ve captured the spacesuit perfectly!!!

    May I ask what medium you used for this piece? It just looks so fantastic that I can’t help from asking. :)

Leave a Reply

